CONTACT: Nancy Hurlbert 352-483-4962 [email protected]
June 26, 2018
TAVARES, Fla. – The Lake County Democratic Party is excited about its record-number of
Democratic candidates fielded for both the Primary and General elections. "It has been a long
time since the Democratic Party had a Primary in Lake County and now we have four primary
contests," said Nancy Hurlbert, Chair of the local Party.
Six Democrats – 3 in each of two districts – are running in the Primary for U.S. Congress. In
Congressional District 6, Stephen Sevigny, Nancy Soderberg and John Upchurch will be on the
August 28th Primary ballot, as will Kristen Carlson, Andrew Learned and Raymond Pena in
Congressional District 15.
For FL Senate, District 22, Democrats Robert Doyel and Ricardo Rangel are on the Primary
ballot. Similarly, Cynthia Brown and Sheryl Cohn are vying in the FL House, District 32 Primary
“Not only do we have Primary contests this year, we have many Democrats contesting seats in
the November General Election,” said Hurlbert.
Dana Cottrell will be running to unseat Daniel Webster in U.S. House, District 11; Gary
McKechnie to unseat Dennis Baxley in the FL Senate, District 12; Debra Kaplan to unseat
Jennifer Sullivan in the FL House, District 31; and Oren Miller to fill the open seat in FL House,
District 33.
Democrats are running in all four seats on the Lake County Water Authority – Jeremy Norton,
Alan Harris, Susan Fetter and Doug Bryant.
For the North Lake Hospital Board, Mary Kay Rozinski won Seat 4 unopposed. Seat 5 will be
contested in November by B. (Belita) Grassel.
“It is a wonderful year to be a Democrat,” said Hurlbert. “We are looking forward to a blue wave
in Lake County, in Florida and nationally!”