2021 Races

2021 Municipal Races

Eight (8) of Lake County’s 14 municipalities were to have elections this year.  Astatula, Clermont, Mascotte and Minneola will not need to hold elections as all candidates were unopposed for their positions. All municipal elections in Lake County are non-partisan. Filing deadlines have now passed for the November 2021 Elections.

Vote by Mail ballots were sent out from the Supervisor of Elections starting on September 17th, 2021. If you are currently signed up for a vote by mail ballot your request is good through the 2022 election cycle.  Contact the supervisor of Elections for Lake County regarding your ballot.


MunicipalityFiling DeadlineSeatsCurrent Holders
AstatulaNoon, 8/13/21Two Council SeatsGayle Sikkema-unopposed (elected)
ClermontNoon, 6/11/21Council Seats 2 & 4Jim Purvis, Ebo Entsuah -unopposed (elected)
EustisNo election in 2021None
Fruitland ParkNo election in 2021None
GrovelandNoon, 6/25/2021
Council Seats 2 & 4

 Duane Mike Smith -unopposed (elected)

 Seat 2: Mike Radzik versus Chris Walker

Howey-in-the-HillsNo election in 2021None
Lady LakeNoon, 8/27/21Commission Seats 1, 3 & 5

Ruth Kussard, James M. Rietz-unopposed (elected)

Seat 3: Ed Freeman versus John Brinson

LeesburgNo election in 2021None
MascotteNoon, 8/13/21Mayor Seat 3 & Council Seats 1 & 5Randy Basher, Ellen Cruz, Steven Sheffield ran unopposed (elected)
MinneolaNoon, 8/13/21Mayor Seat 3 & Council Seats 1 & 5

Edward Kelley, Pam Serviss, Joseph Saunders

unopposed (elected)

MontverdeNoon 8/20/21Mayor & Three Council Seats

Joe Wynkoop-Mayor -unopposed (Elected)

 Top 3 vote getters win the election:

 Judy Smith, Jim Ley,

Paul Ryan, Gary Schindele, Allan Hartle

Mount DoraNoon, 8/13/21Mayor, One At Large Seat, and Council Seats 1 & 4

Marc Crail – unoppose, Nate Walker -unopposed (elected)

Chrissy Stile ver Cathy Hoechst for Mayor

John Cataldo versus Carroll Jaskulski

TavaresNoon, 8/16/21Council Seats 2 & 4

Lou Buigas versus Sandy Gamble,

Troy Singer versus Steve Farley

UmatillaNo election in 2021None


The information on the races is subject to change